Ariel Pink – pom pom (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

(Last Updated On: July 5, 2022)

Ariel Pink – pom pom (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:07:03 minutes | 1,35 GB | Genre: Alternative, Indie
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © 4AD

Across its 17 tracks and 69 minutes, pom pom is unfiltered Ariel Pink, featuring infectious tales of romance, murder, frog princes and Jell-O. The record sees the Los Angeles native strike it out alone, returning to the solo moniker he has adopted for well over a decade.

The first work attributed solely to Ariel Pink since the late 2000s and his first solo album, Pom Pom finds an uneasy balance between his early days and his later albums with Haunted Graffiti for 4AD. With slightly murkier production values than either Before Today or Mature Themes, the sprawling double album nods to Pink’s home-recording days, but features a far wider cast of collaborators — including Spiritualized’s Jason Pierce and rock polymath Kim Fowley — than any of his previous music. Similarly, these songs encompass some of his most engaging pop and some of his most aggressively weird music. While Pom Pom isn’t as fragmented as the collections of his early work, the sides of Pink’s music often feel polarized, especially compared to how well they complemented each other on Before Today and Mature Themes. The album’s pop side might fare slightly better, at least on the first few listens: “Put Your Number in My Phone” may be even catchier than Before Today’s “Round and Round” or Mature Themes’ “Only in My Dreams” (and the fact that it appears a quarter of the way into Pom Pom suggests Pink is aiming for a disorienting listening experience), while “Dayzed Inn Daydreams” delivers more gauzy AM pop that sounds like it was channeled from the early ’70s. Elsewhere, the breezily disturbing “Lipstick” could be an ’80s new wave ballad written by Brian DePalma, and “Picture Me Gone” mixes mortality and technology into something equally witty and bittersweet. Some of Pom Pom’s more overtly wacky tracks, like the novelty rock and musique concrète collision of “Dinosaur Carebears,” take a while time to warm up to, and some, like “Exile on Frog Street,” are just too long. However, for every song like these, there’s a “White Freckles,” a fine tip of the hat to Frank Zappa’s legacy. Likewise, Pink’s Fowley collaborations feel like the passing of the torch from one eccentric to another, whether it’s “Plastic Raincoats in the Pig Parade”‘s surreal sugar high, “Jell-O”‘s whitebread satire, or the risqué surf-pop of “Nude Beach a Go-Go” (Azealia Banks’ version of the song on Broke with Expensive Taste was even more successful and surprising in context). Indeed, sex is never far away on a Pink album, and “Sexual Athletics”‘ mix of cartoonish lust and romantic longing feels like Mature Themes in a nutshell. Though the way Pink zigs and zags on Pom Pom can be dazzling or confusing depending on listeners’ patience, in its own way it’s one of the best representations of what makes his music fascinating and occasionally frustrating.

01. Ariel Pink – Plastic Raincoats in the Big Parade (03:28)
02. Ariel Pink – White Freckles (02:46)
03. Ariel Pink – Four Shadows (03:38)
04. Ariel Pink – Lipstick (03:20)
05. Ariel Pink – Not Enough Violence (06:04)
06. Ariel Pink – Put Your Number in my Phone (02:52)
07. Ariel Pink – One Summer Night (03:55)
08. Ariel Pink – Nude Beach A Go-Go (02:19)
09. Ariel Pink – Goth Bomb (02:41)
10. Ariel Pink – Dinosaur Carebears (05:23)
11. Ariel Pink – Negativ Ed (03:17)
12. Ariel Pink – Sexual Athletics (04:02)
13. Ariel Pink – Jello-o (02:01)
14. Ariel Pink – Black Ballerina (05:50)
15. Ariel Pink – Picture Me Gone (05:39)
16. Ariel Pink – Exile on Frog Street (04:47)
17. Ariel Pink – Dayzed Inn Daydreams (04:52)


%d bloggers like this: