Avishai Cohen – Big Vicious (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

(Last Updated On: July 11, 2022)

Avishai Cohen – Big Vicious (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 50:30 minutes | 984 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © ECM

Charismatic trumpeter Avishai Cohen launched his exuberant, home-grown band Big Vicious six years ago, after relocating from the US to his native Israel, rounding up players to shape the music from the ground up, and co-authoring much of its newest material together with them. The group is an association of old friends. “We’re all coming from jazz, but some of us left it earlier”, Avishai says, summing up the stylistic reach of his cohorts. “Everyone’s bringing in their backgrounds, and that becomes part of the sound of the band.” Textures from electronica, ambient music and psychedelia are part of the blend, so too grooves and beats from rock, pop, trip-hop and more. A wide-open approach to cover versions – from Massive Attack to Beethoven – is also integral to the Vicious vision. Recorded in Studios La Buissonne in the South of France in August 2019 and produced by Manfred Eicher, Big Vicious’s debut album is issued as the band gears up for extensive international touring.

After a beautiful introspective debut for the label ECM, Avishai Cohen changes gears with his band Big Vicious. A unique cast around the Israeli trumpeter boasts two drummers (Aviv Cohen and Ziv Ravitz), an electric bass player (Yonatan Albalak) and a guitarist (Uzi Ramirez). This jazz-wielding quintet grew up with a thousand other sounds in mind. Hence this assembly of plural sound textures from electronic music as well as rock, classical, pop and trip hop. We are treated to big and improbably leaps, such as the one between Massive Attack and Beethoven, the two names whose works Big Vicious revisits (Teardrop and Moonlight Sonata). Avishai Cohen sometimes seems to be wearing the clothes of his elders Jon Hassell and Don Ellis. In particular, he tones down his leader’s aura to let the quintet advance as one. It is precisely the homogeneity and atmospheric sound of Big Vicious that makes the whole original. And whether the compositions are trippy (Intent), uptempo (King Kutner) or downright experimental (Fractals), they share a real unique narrative force. – Marc Zisman

1. Avishai Cohen (tp) – Honey Fountain (04:34)
2. None – Hidden Chamber (04:42)
3. None – King Kutner (04:10)
4. None – Moonlight Sonata (05:30)
5. None – Fractals (03:33)
6. None – Teardrop (07:24)
7. None – The Things You Tell Me (03:11)
8. None – This Time It’s Different (03:20)
9. None – Teno Neno (06:03)
10. None – The Cow & The Calf (03:55)
11. None – Intent (04:03)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: