Benjamin Grosvenor – Dances (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

(Last Updated On: January 5, 2017)

Benjamin Grosvenor – Dances (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Digital Booklet | 1.16 GB
Genre: Classical | Official Digital Download – Source: Highresaudio

Dances is a dazzling display of solo works for piano from Bach to Boogie Woogie; via Chopin, Granados, Albeniz, Scriabin and the Blue Danube. For his second solo album on Decca, Benjamin Grosvenor has assembled a typically imaginative and appealing programme of piano music inspired by the dance form. Shining the spotlight on the music of movement, this album was inspired by a letter from the great pianist-composer Ferruccio Busoni to his pupil Egon Petri proposing a “dance programme” as a theme for Petri’s recitals, a concept Grosvenor expanded on for his Queen Elizabeth Hall debut recital in 2012.

A former Gramophone Young Artist of the Year, Grosvenor will appearing at two BBC Proms in 2014 with a performance of Chopin’s First Piano Concerto with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra (8th August), followed by a solo recital at Cadogan Hall (1st September). In 2011, he was awarded the honour of opening the BBC Proms Concerts season and was the youngest-ever soloist to perform on the ‘First Night’.

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, Frédéric Chopin, Alexander Scriabin, Enrique Granados, …
Performer: Benjamin Grosvenor


Benjamin Grosvenor presents Dances, a glittering album shining the spotlight on music from Bach to Boogie Woogie via Chopin, Scriabin, Granados and the Blue Danube. Grosvenor states: “This album’s inspiration comes from a letter in 1909 from Busoni, proposing a ‘dance programme’ comprising original compositions and transcriptions. With Bach’s 4th Partita as its starting point, this recording presents a chronologically and geographically wide-ranging recital of works by composers (and transcribers) to whose output the keyboard was central, featuring both familiar and more obscure gems from the piano repertoire.”

A young pianist shines in Bach and boogie . . . [you’ll find lots of] artistic personality in this lively and intelligent double album . . . [J.S. Bach / Partita no. 4 BWV 828]: [Grosvenor gives] us Bach playing with elegant clarity and a gentle heart. The poise of the sarabande is particularly exquisite: Grosvenor at such points seems inside the notes, entirely the music’s servant . . . one pleasure follows another, with carefully balances textures, widely varied degrees of touch and virtuosity that comes as naturally as breathing. Three od Scriabin’s early mazurkas glide by, fluidly poetic, music poised between the concert hall and the salon . . . [Granados’s “Valses Poéticos” are] pitched with exquisite skill and delicacy . . . a deliciously smoky Albéniz tango . . . This is an exhilarating programme all told, from a greatly gifted young artist. Excellently recorded, too. –Record Review / Geoff Brown, The Times (London) / 01. August 2014

His virtuosity is most floridly displayed in Adolf Schulz-Evler’s gloss on Strauss’s “By the Beautiful Blue Danube”, but it’s the Bach Partita that best displays a talent where an assured modesty allows the music’s subtler charms to shine through. –Record Review / Andy Gill, Independent (London) / 01. August 2014

A superb collection from a brilliant young pianist . . . an outstanding collection of pieces . . . Here Grosvenor brings all of his virtuosic brilliance and musical intelligence to a wide-ranging and very attractive selection of pieces, all immaculately played and crisply recorded.


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750): Partita No.4 in D , BWV 828
1. 1. Overture 04:33
2. 2. Allemande 04:44
3. 3. Courante 01:40
4. 4. Aria 01:02
5. 5. Sarabande 02:51
6. 6. Menuet 01:00
7. 7. Gigue 01:55

Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849): Andante spianato and Grande polonaise in E flat, Op.22
8. Andante spianato 04:02
9. Grande Polonaise 08:57
Polonaise No.5 In F Sharp Minor, Op.44
10. Polonaise No.5 In F Sharp Minor, Op.44 10:24

Alexander Scriabin (1872-1915): 10 Mazurkas, Op.3 (1889)
11. No.6 in C Sharp Minor (Scherzando) 02:17
12. No.4 in E (Moderato) 03:55
13. No.9 in G Sharp Minor 02:48
Valse in A flat major, op.38
14. Waltz No.4, Op.38 05:38

Enrique Granados (1867-1916): 8 Valses poéticos
15. Preludio: Vivace molto 01:04
16. I. Melodioso 01:21
17. 2.Tempo de Vals noble 01:07
18. 3. Tempo de Vals lento 01:32
19. 4. Allegro humoristico 00:39
20. 5. Allegretto (elegante) 01:09
21. 6. Quasi ad libitum (sentimental) 01:04
22. 7. Vivo 00:40
23. 8. Presto 01:55

Adolf Schulz-Evler (1852-1905)
24. An die schönen Blauen Donau – concert arabesques after a waltz by J. Strauss jr. 10:02

Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909)
25. Tango, Op. 165 No.2 02:40

Morton Gould (1913-1996)
26. Boogie Woogie Etude 02:08

Bonus Tracks
27. No.2 Gnomenreigen 02:51
28. Siciliano 03:34


### links are broken, waiting to update ###/prbql5y68ec6/BenjaminGr0sven0rDances20149624.part1.rar.html
### links are broken, waiting to update ###/onwrnr7zlgmd/BenjaminGr0sven0rDances20149624.part2.rar.html

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: