Big Thief – U.F.O.F. (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

(Last Updated On: August 20, 2021)

Big Thief – U.F.O.F. (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 43:15 minutes | 476 MB | Genre: Indie Folk
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © 4AD

UFO we understand. But UFOF? The additional F is for Friends according to Big Thief. UFOs and friends then? The band’s singer Adrienne Laker gives us a loose explanation: “Making friends with the unknown… All my songs are about this” With the guitarist Buck Meek, the bassist Max Oleartchik and the drummer James Krivchenia, Laker releases her third album. The Brooklyn quartet’s music is a sort of folk mixed with indie rock. Without sounding too much like them, this 2019 album sometimes contains the DNA of Sonic Youth (such as on Jenni). The result is alluring, almost shimmering. But upon a closer look, “UFOF” is a bizarre and strange, almost abnormal record. And like the late Elliot Smith (Laker’s idol that one recalls on Betsy), the beautiful melodies and tremendously artisanal guitars hide an evident melancholy and unusual, unnerving situations. Perhaps that would explain the UFOs? A less ‘polished’ and luxurious record than Masterpiece (2016) and Capacity (2017), UFOF shows a group ready to question itself and evolve its art.  – Marc Zisman

1. Contact (03:54)
2. UFOF (03:08)
3. Cattails (04:05)
4. From (03:58)
5. Open Desert (03:47)
6. Orange (03:30)
7. Century (03:07)
8. Strange (03:41)
9. Betsy (03:28)
10. Terminal Paradise (03:25)
11. Jenni (04:11)
12. Magic Dealer (03:01)


### links are broken, waiting to update ###/sh5rkdiby8e7/BigThiefU.F.0.F20192444.1.rar.html

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: