Fourplay – Fourplay (30th Anniversary Edition) (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

(Last Updated On: January 3, 2022)

Fourplay – Fourplay (30th Anniversary Edition) (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/192kHz | Time – 01:09:49 minutes | 2,60 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Cherry Red Records

There was no great cunning master plan that brought noted jazz instrumentalists Bob James (keyboards), Lee Ritenour (guitar), Nathan Eat (bass) and Harvey Mason (drums) together to form a supergroup. Released in October 1991, Fourplay – aided by the success of the smash single “After The Dance” – peaked at No. 1 in America’s Contemporary Jazz charts for 33 weeks and sold over a million copies. It rose to No.16 in the R&B rankings and No.97 in America’s list of top pop records. Now three decades old, the band’s self-titled debut album, was not only the blueprint for the group’s sound but also functioned as a foundation stone upon which Fourplay built a remarkable career.

Lee Ritenour plays some tasteful guitar lines in a deft call-and-response exchange with James. Drummer Harvey Mason is responsible for ‘Max-O-Man,’ which opens with an intro spotlighting James’ crystalline piano melodies before mutating into a brisk uptempo groove seasoned with Ritenour’s tasteful guitar lines. ‘After The Dance‘ reconfigures Marvin Gaye’s 1976 Motown hit into a silky slow jam featuring the vocals of Detroit singer, El DeBarge, who was also signed to Warner Bros at the time. “El DeBarge was a perfect complement to the record and brought his R&B audience along with his beautiful voice and musicality,” remembers Nathan East. The Bob James‘ tune, ‘Quadrille‘ – named after a 19th-century country dance – is an elegant mid-tempo piece defined by subtle shifts in mood and instrumental colour. James plays a deft acoustic piano solo over a funk-infused section. Ritenour demonstrates his fingerboard prowess with a fleet-of-finger solo that blurs the line between jazz and rock vocabularies. The next tune, the Harvey Mason-written ‘Midnight Stroll,’ has the distinction of being the first song that the band recorded together and its easy-going, subtle elegance sets the tone for the album as a whole.

1. Fourplay – Bali Run – 2021 Remastered
2. Fourplay – 101 Eastbound – 2021 Remastered
3. Fourplay – Foreplay – 2021 Remastered
4. Fourplay – Moonjogger – 2021 Remastered
5. Fourplay – Max-O-Man – 2021 Remastered
6. Fourplay – After The Dance (feat. El DeBarge) – 2021 Remastered
7. Fourplay – Quadrille – 2021 Remastered
8. Fourplay – Midnight Stroll – 2021 Remastered
9. Fourplay – October Morning – 2021 Remastered
10. Fourplay – Wish You Were Here – 2021 Remastered
11. Fourplay – Rain Forest – 2021 Remastered
12. Fourplay – After The Dance [Long Version] (feat. El DeBarge) – 2021 Remastered


### links are broken, waiting to update ###/4xgk4fn81843/F0urplayF0urplay30thAnniversaryEditi0n202124192.part1.rar.html
### links are broken, waiting to update ###/3u4nkj0js9st/F0urplayF0urplay30thAnniversaryEditi0n202124192.part2.rar.html
### links are broken, waiting to update ###/b43i8jd1sgmo/F0urplayF0urplay30thAnniversaryEditi0n202124192.part3.rar.html

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: