Jamie Cullum – Interlude (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

(Last Updated On: December 22, 2021)

Jamie Cullum – Interlude (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44.1kHz | Time – 43:37 minutes | 458 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Island Records

INTERLUDE marks a rare focus upon largely straight-ahead jazz and a return to interpretation from an artist who has made a habit of bending genres, writing original material and bringing new sounds and new listeners to the music. Produced, Engineered & Mixed by Benedic Lamdin for Nostalgia 77 and featuring guest spots from Laura Mvula and Gregory Porter, the album repertoire choices were inspired by the music and musicians he’s featured on his award-winning UK jazz radio show over the last few years and his own crate digging tendencies, INTERLUDE avoid cliché with a fistful of less obvious jewels from the American songbook along with a couple modern surprises.

The intent behind Jamie Cullum’s seventh album, Interlude — released in the U.K. in 2014, with a U.S. release in 2015 — is to strongly reconnect the singer/pianist with his jazz roots. Gone are the flirtations with electronics, along with original material: Cullum is playing live with a jazz orchestra, singing standards that are familiar but not shopworn. He expands the songbook so there’s room for Hank Williams’ “Lovesick Blues” and the Animals’ “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood,” but his playbook is straight out of Ray Charles. He’s growling and crooning as he alternately pounds and tinkles his piano, giving plenty of space for the orchestra to surge but not allowing a lot of room for improvisation. Most of the songs here clock in somewhere between three and four minutes, which is a strong indication that this album lies toward the pop end of the jazz spectrum. This is by no means a bad thing. By devoting himself to a strong book of standards and recording with a live big band, Cullum seems reinvigorated. He’s enjoying tearing into these old tunes and that excitement isn’t merely palpable, it’s contagious. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

01 – Interlude
02 – Don’t You Know
03 – The Seer’s Tower
04 – Walkin’
05 – Good Morning Heartache [feat. Laura Mvula]06 – Sack O’ Woe
07 – Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood [feat. Gregory Porter]08 – My One And Only Love
09 – Lovesick Blues
10 – Losing You
11 – Out Of This World
12 – Make Someone Happy


### links are broken, waiting to update ###/ak8js4helrq8/JamieCullumInterlude2014Q0buz24441.rar.html

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: