Lavern Baker – Sings Bessie Smith (1958/2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

(Last Updated On: January 20, 2022)

Lavern Baker – Sings Bessie Smith (1958/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 42:04 minutes | 470 MB | Genre: Blues, Soul
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RevOla

The year is 1958, when a reasonably successful R&B singer goes into the studio with an all-star band and puts a dozen songs from the world repertoire of a blues legend on the tape. The old-fashioned style in LaVern Baker’s homage to Bessie Smith might seem a little strange in the midst of the tension of popular R&B numbers and the already started Motown hit machine, but found a lot of love from the audience. And for good reasons! Already the opening piece “Gimme A Pigfoot” lives with its snapping bass lines a dance house atmosphere of the 20s.

Bluesy conversations with the trumpet (“Baby Doll”, “I Ain’t Gonna Play No Second Fiddle”) alternating with robustly instrumented swing rhythms (“On Revival Day”) and always a cool egging blues (“Black Water Blues”) guarantee the highest listening and entertainment value. The big names of the band, a who’s who of great musicians such as Nat Pierce, Buck Clayton, Paul Quinichette, Urbie Green and Jimmy Cleveland crown their fantastic sounding collective performance with loose and slightly shaken solos and finely balanced background playing, which could hardly seem more authentic on a live stage. By the way, even fans of the traditional big band swing can happily access it here.

1. Lavern Baker – Gimme A Pigfoot (Remastered) (03:10)
2. Lavern Baker – Baby Doll (Remastered) (03:27)
3. Lavern Baker – On Revival Day (Remastered) (03:16)
4. Lavern Baker – Money Blues (Remastered) (02:54)
5. Lavern Baker – I Ain’t Gonna Play No Second Fiddle (Remastered) (04:05)
6. Lavern Baker – Back Water Blues (Remastered) (04:42)
7. Lavern Baker – Empty Bed Blues (Remastered) (04:53)
8. Lavern Baker – There’ll Be A Hot Time In The Old Town Tonight (Remastered) (02:43)
9. Lavern Baker – Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out (Remastered) (03:57)
10. Lavern Baker – After You’ve Gone (Remastered) (03:09)
11. Lavern Baker – Young Woman’s Blues (Remastered) (02:52)
12. Lavern Baker – Preaching The Blues (Remastered) (02:50)


### links are broken, waiting to update ###/fx9o17rrff2o/LavernBakerSingsBessieSmith1958202124441.rar.html

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: