Nubya Garcia – SOURCE (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

(Last Updated On: December 2, 2021)

Nubya Garcia – SOURCE (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:00:43 minutes | 1,4 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Concord Jazz

Although this release is Nubya Garcia’s first real solo album, the artist is accustomed to being showered with praise, awards, prizes, projects and collaborations. At 29 years old, the Londoner is undoubtedly one of the major players on the new British jazz scene and her colourful, full-bodied saxophone playing has already resonated on numerous recordings such as those of the groups Nérija and Maisha, and on two thirds of We Out Here (2018), the iconic compilation album from Gilles Peterson’s Brownswood label which united the big names on the contemporary scene. It is with some of these musicians that she has recorded Source. Joined by Joe Armon-Jones (keys), Daniel Casimir (bass) and Sam Jones (drums), Garcia was certainly well-equipped to push the boundaries of contemporary jazz and the UK music scene. As is often the case with contemporary UK musicians, Afro-Caribbean and urban sounds come to influence the rhythms as well as the melodies. Such a fusion is often present in UK jazz albums which also have their own unique flavours. The influence of Herbie Hancock (from the Headhunters period/early Columbia Records) is never far away (Inner Game, The Message Continues). This sensation is amplified by the funky playing of the organ and synth magician, Joe Armon-Jones.

But Nubya Garcia is hungry for other sounds and landscapes. On the title track Source, the dub influence is clear. On Together is a Beautiful Place To Be, she deploys a delicate soul and R&B sensuality. Stand With Each Other slaloms between spellbinding nyabinghi rhythms while the aptly named La cumbia me està llamando leaves no doubt as to its influences… All of these sequences paint the picture of a woman well anchored in her time, a musician who is in harmony with her roots and history and puts the notion of collectiveness at the forefront of her artistry. Garcia’s notable invitees include Richie Sievwright, Cassie Kinoshi and Sheila Maurice-Grey from the group Kokoroko, the Colombians of La Perla (La cambia me està llamando) as well as Chicago singer Akenya Seymour (Boundless Beings). With this Qobuzissime winning album, Nubya Garcia succeeds in going that little bit further and breaking down the walls that try to hold jazz back. – Marc Zisman


1. Nubya Garcia – Pace
2. Nubya Garcia – The Message Continues
3. Nubya Garcia – Source
4. Nubya Garcia – Together Is A Beautiful Place To Be
5. Nubya Garcia – Stand With Each Other
6. Nubya Garcia – Inner Game
7. Nubya Garcia – La cumbia me está llamando
8. Nubya Garcia – Before Us: In Demerara & Caura
9. Nubya Garcia – Boundless Beings


### links are broken, waiting to update ###/vov5ukdc63qi/NubyaGarciaS0URCE20202496.part1.rar.html
### links are broken, waiting to update ###/6ebbqajqi1qw/NubyaGarciaS0URCE20202496.part2.rar.html

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: