Olafur Arnalds – some kind of peace (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

(Last Updated On: December 3, 2021)

Ólafur Arnalds – some kind of peace (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 38:43 minutes | 713 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Decca Music Group Ltd.

Olafur Arnalds new album, some kind of peace is his most revealing and vulnerable work to date and features Bonobo, Josin and JFDR. Within, you’ll find a self-confessed perfectionist grappling with the messier realities of everyday life: the possibilities of love, of settling down, and how to navigate all of that during a global pandemic (the album was half-written prior to lockdown, and completed at Arnalds’ harbour studio in downtown Reykjavik). What’s emerged on some kind of peace is a record about letting your guard down, and ultimately what it means to be alive.

some kind of peace is a journey of Ólafur Arnalds’ personal and creative growth, set against the backdrop of a chaotic world. Within, you’ll hear hints of those private experiences – sometimes even samples of the significant events themselves – woven into an album that is remarkable in its openness, and its beauty. Throughout Ólafur urges you to embrace all that life throws at you, and above all to react, and contemplate, to find your kind of peace. His stunning new album would definitely be the place to start.

After touring all over Europe with his album re:member (perhaps his best – or at least boldest – release of 2018), Ólafur Arnalds found himself alone in his studio in Reykjavik during lockdown and used the opportunity to record his most intimate record yet. “Like everyone else, it forced me to take stock of what I was doing. By the time the pandemic hit, I’d already written half the album, so the rest flowed freely. The result is my most personal album to date. It moves away from big concepts and big ideas. It’s just me” explained the Icelandic composer. He offers up moments of intense weightlessness, levitation even, on tracks like the super-chilled opener Loom and Zero. With dreamlike synths, relaxing violins and compassion-filled pianos, Ólafur Arnalds sends out therapeutic vibrations on pieces where you can almost feel his consciousness expanding. Some local guests appear on this record, including the Icelandic singer JFDR on Back to the Sky which drips with Roya Arab-like sensuality. The album ends with a philosophical touch; Undone samples from a spoken word passage by the singer Lhasa de Sela, who died in 2010, bringing the concept of death to the fore. An album that doubles as a much-needed healing remedy. – Smaël Bouaici

1. Ólafur Arnalds & Bonobo – Loom (03:46)
2. Ólafur Arnalds – Woven Song (03:10)
3. Ólafur Arnalds – Spiral (03:20)
4. Ólafur Arnalds – Still / Sound (04:13)
5. Ólafur Arnalds & JFDR – Back to the Sky (03:23)
6. Ólafur Arnalds – Zero (04:26)
7. Ólafur Arnalds – New Grass (04:02)
8. Ólafur Arnalds & Josin – The Bottom Line (04:02)
9. Ólafur Arnalds – We Contain Multitudes (03:18)
10. Ólafur Arnalds – Undone (05:03)


### links are broken, waiting to update ###/rn152xx1mdxd/lafurArnaldss0mekind0fpeace20202496.rar.html

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: