Vox Luminis & Lionel Meunier – Bach (Heinrich, J. Christoph, J. Michael, J. Sebastian): Kantaten (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

(Last Updated On: December 22, 2021)

Vox Luminis & Lionel Meunier – Bach (Heinrich, J. Christoph, J. Michael, J. Sebastian): Kantaten (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:07:07 minutes | 1,19 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Ricercar

After having explored the remaining cantatas of Johann Sebastian Bach’s ancestors, Vox Luminis and Lionel Meunier have undertaken here a recording, accompanied by instrumentals, of these sacred vocal compositions. They are pieces that connect us to the principles of the “spiritual concert” (Geistliches Konzert) and that, through their multi-parted structure, belong to the origins of the sacred genre of the cantata. It was through Johann Sebastian himself that we owe the knowledge of his musical ancestors. Around the age of fifty, he felt the need to collate and retrace his family tree, most likely originating from Hungary where the miller Vitus Bach always brought a cittern with him on his way to grinding wheat.

The works of the Bach family presented here represent the first of the sacred German cantatas along with those of Bruhns, Buxtehude and Pachelbel. We can hear here the predecessors’ works that led to one of the first similar works by Johann Sebastian, his cantata “Christ lag in Todesbanden BWV 4”, was considered for a long time as one of the first compositions of its genre. In addition to its striking likeness to the form of cantata eponymous to Pachelbel, this composition contains numerous elements which can notably be traced back to the works of his ancestors. – François Hudry

1 Ach bleib bei uns, Herr Jesu Christ 06:23
2 Die Furcht des Herren 07:51
3 Ich danke dir Gott 05:44
4 Herr, der König freuet sich 05:39
5 Herr, wende dich und sei mir gnädig 12:53
Christ lag in Todesbanden, BWV 4
6 I. Sinfonia 01:08
7 II. Christ lag in Todesbanden 03:58
8 III. Den Tod niemand zwingen kunnt 03:38
9 IV. Jesus Christus, Gottes Sohn 02:01
10 V. Es war ein wunderlicher Krieg 02:31
11 VI. Hie ist das rechte Osterlamm 02:58
12 VII. So feiern wir das hohe Fest 01:41
13 VIII. Wie essen und wir leben wohl 01:30
14 Es erhub sich ein Streit 09:12

Vox Luminis
Lionel Meunier, direction


### links are broken, waiting to update ###/34jkkovegv4e/V0xLuminisLi0nelMeunierKantaten20192496.part1.rar.html
### links are broken, waiting to update ###/fnppskt52hpb/V0xLuminisLi0nelMeunierKantaten20192496.part2.rar.html

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: