Warren Wolf – Reincarnation (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

(Last Updated On: August 5, 2022)

Warren Wolf – Reincarnation (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 53:27 minutes | 1,11 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Mack Avenue Records

On ‘Reincarnation’ Baltimore vibesman Warren Wolf reveals an entirely different side to his multi-faceted talents, allowing him to indulge his love for the R&B and soul hits that served as the soundtrack to his formative years in the 1990s. It’s also a celebration of a new lease on life, a happiness and contentment that he’s discovered through a new marriage and his five beloved children.

Through his three prior Mack Avenue Music Group releases and his attention-grabbing work with the likes of Christian McBride, Bobby Watson, Karriem Riggins, Jeremy Pelt, and the SFJAZZ Collective, Warren Wolf has established himself as the foremost straight-ahead vibraphonist of his generation, a bop torchbearer well equipped to carry the mantle of forebears like Bobby Hutcherson and Milt Jackson.

For ‘Reincarnation’, the vibist realised he’d need a band equally versed in the jazz tradition and the sultry feel of vintage R&B. His compositions touched on the R&B groups that blared from the radio in his high school and college days: D’Angelo, Mint Condition, Prince, even 2Pac. He found the ideal chemistry through a mix of scene veterans and rising stars – drummer Carroll “CV” Dashiell III, bassist Richie Goods and newcomer vocalist Imani-Grace Cooper.

Marcellus “Bassman” Shepard, aka “The Man with the Voice,” a DJ on Baltimore’s WEAA 88.9, serves as emcee and Greek chorus throughout the album, providing a radio-style intro for the album on the opening track, “Smooth Intro,” and a summary farewell on the bookending “Smooth Outro.”

“This is just an album about love and feel-good music,” Wolf summed up. “At this point in my career, I just wanted to show that I can be versatile in many different styles. I plan to continue to grow and play all the wonderful music that has shaped me as a musician today.”

01. Warren Wolf – Smooth Intro (02:06)
02. Warren Wolf – For Ma (04:57)
03. Warren Wolf – Vahybing (07:06)
04. Warren Wolf – In the Heat of the Night (06:52)
05. Warren Wolf – The Struggle (09:19)
06. Warren Wolf – For the Love of You (07:07)
07. Warren Wolf – Sebastian and Zoë (05:27)
08. Warren Wolf – Livin’ the Good Life (05:26)
09. Warren Wolf – Come and Dance with Me (03:37)
10. Warren Wolf – Smooth Outro (01:26)

Warren Wolf – vibraphone
Brett Williams – Fender Rhodes [1, 4, 6, 7, 10]; piano [2, 3, 5, 7–9]
Richie Goods – electric bass [1–7, 10] upright bass [8]
Mark Whitfield – guitar [4, 6]
Carroll “CV” Dashiell III – drums, percussion [1–8, 10]
Imani-Grace Cooper – vocals [4, 6–8]; background vocals [5]
Marcellus “Bassman” Shepard – vocals [1, 4, 7, 10]


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: