Wau Wau Collectif – Yaral Sa Doom (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

(Last Updated On: August 5, 2022)

Wau Wau Collectif – Yaral Sa Doom (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 36:10 minutes | 388 MB | Genre: World, Funk, Afrobeat
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Sahel Sounds

Avant-garde cosmic sounds from Senegal, “Yaral Sa Doom” is a groundbreaking album spanning borders and musical scenes. Inspired from West African tradition, Sufi praise songs, spiritual jazz, and dub rhythms, the effect is a genre defying entry in outernational sound. Hypnotic percussion loops across sweeping pads, call and response chants echoes layer over electronic beats, and children’s voices sing out to recordings of crashing waves.

In 2018, Swedish music archeologist and leftfield musician Karl Jonas Winqvist traveled to Toubab Dialaw, Senegal, a small fishing village turned hub of Senegal’s bohemian art scene. Over the next weeks, local musicians, percussionists, poets, and beat makers came together, sketching out ideas and recording free improvisation. Winqvist returned to Sweden, trading recordings back and forth over WhatsApp with Senegal based collaborator and studio engineer Arouna Kane.

“Yaral Sa Doom” is a Wolof phrase that means “educate the young.” Central to the album is this theme of education, with songs that directly address social issues facing contemporary Senegal, education, and immigration. “Today you must educate children with an instrument and art, when you teach them an instrument you teach them to use their spirit,” says Djiby Ly.

With over 20 contributing performers from Senegal and Sweden, the resulting album is layered and complex, yet maintains a central vision. “It’s like diving into the sea,” explains Kane. “There are all different species of fish swimming around, but together they make the ocean.” Nonetheless, it’s also a geographic anomaly, made possible only by exchange of the internet age. An exceptional recording on its own, “Yaral Sa Doom” is a visionary entry in the future of transglobal collaboration.

01. Wau Wau Collectif – Yaral Sa Doom (05:45)
02. Wau Wau Collectif – Thiante (03:14)
03. Wau Wau Collectif – Mouhamodou Lo and His Children (03:07)
04. Wau Wau Collectif – Salamaleikoum (03:30)
05. Wau Wau Collectif – Gouné Yi (03:17)
06. Wau Wau Collectif – Yaral Sa Doom II (03:35)
07. Wau Wau Collectif – Riddim Rek Ya Niouy Mom (03:28)
08. Wau Wau Collectif – Mame Cheikh Sidy Anta Mba (03:18)
09. Wau Wau Collectif – Si Tu Savais Juste (02:50)
10. Wau Wau Collectif – Legui Legui (04:02)


%d bloggers like this: